We interrupt our regularly scheduled program

Whilst wandering around the Maker Faire in San Mateo yesterday, my friend and I came across this cool sculpture. In its chest cavity, a gout of flame would flare up in a pattern that mimicked the beating of a heart. About every thirty seconds or so, the entire thing would light up like this and send out waves of heat for about twenty feet in every direction. It was, honestly, one of the coolest thing I’ve seen in recent memory.

I didn’t bring my camera with me, mainly because I felt too lazy to actually carry the damn thing around the whole time, but I did have my iPhone with me. Up until now, I was of the general opinion that camera phones would never give digital cameras a run for their money, but the iPhone has a 2 megapixel camera built into it that also does a nice job of automatically adjusting for lighting conditions. I haven’t tried taking photos with it in dark environments yet, but I’m sure it would net some interesting results.

Anyway, all things considered, I was pretty happy with this picture’s quality, and the phone did a great job of capturing the flame details. Color me impressed.

Explore posts in the same categories: action, Artsy stuff, iPhone, Photography

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

