Photo of the Day: Yellowjacket

Photo Details:
Camera: Nikon D80

F-Stop: f/6.3
Focal Length: 105 mm
Exposure Bias: + 0.3ev
Speed: 1/200
ISO: 400

Untitled, originally uploaded by foolscircle.

I found this little guy whilst wandering around a farmer’s market that was near State College, PA. The market itself was located in a WWII memorial area, so there were decommissioned tanks and artillery guns all over the place. When walking around, I started off taking pictures of the textures on one of the tanks and then noticed that there were some yellowjackets crawling across certain parts of it.

I’m pretty sure I shot around 30 or 40 shots of the yellowjackets, but this one was my favorite because of all the detail that was captured in this image. When using macro lenses, I’ve often encountered difficulties with the depth of field while I’m within a foot or two of my subject. The two solutions I’ve found are to either increase the f-stop numbers or just take a step back and then crop down the photo afterwards. Thankfully, this scene was well-lit, so I was able to just do the former and achieve the results I wanted.

Explore posts in the same categories: macro photography, movement, nature, Nikon D80, Photography

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

