Photo of the Day: Butterflied

Photo Details:
Camera: Nikon D80

F-Stop: f/4.8
Focal Length: 46 mm
Exposure Bias: +0.3ev
Speed: 1/320
ISO: 800

Untitled, originally uploaded by foolscircle.

I realize that this isn’t quite macro photography, but it’s got insects. Besides, it’s my blog, so I’m allowed to change the parameters of a theme when I want to.

I shot this last year while the Saltimbanco Bus Tour was visiting the Strong Museum of Play in New York. The place is pretty cool, in all honesty. Aside from being a great kids’ museum, it also houses the National Toy Hall of Fame and an insanely large butterfly reservation.

I don’t know why, but this has been one of my favorite pictures, even though I can never point out anything that’s particularly noteworthy about the colors or lighting. There was a request for no flash photography, so I upped the exposure bias and also pumped the ISO up to 800 while we were in the reservation.

Margot, who had a habit of giving me nothing but brilliant pictures throughout my tenure as the tour’s photographer, was doing her human statue routine when a couple of the butterflies landed on her face.

Explore posts in the same categories: nature, Nikon D80, photo of the day, Photography, portraits, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

