Photo of the Day: Climbing to the Top

Photo Details:
Camera: Nikon D80

F-Stop: f/8
Focal Length: 105 mm
Exposure Bias: -0.3ev
Speed: 1/250
ISO: 100

Untitled, originally uploaded by foolscircle.

I’m a horrible insect photographer in that I really don’t take much interest in my subjects aside from how they look. I really couldn’t care less as to what their life cycles are, how they breed, what they eat, or what their scientific name is. Yeah, I know, it’s blasphemous, but it’s how I operate.

This level of disinterest is brought about by the fact that, well, I’m shallow. Really, I just like the way that some bugs look, particularly in the wild. That’s why I don’t bother with insect photography taken in a studio environment. Instead, I like the dynamic settings that I encounter when I go out on hikes.

I shot this last summer when I was on the road with the Red Truck Road Trip, while we were stopped over in Denver. I went on a hike with a college friend in the mountains behind her house, and the ridge features some truly spectacular views and amazing flora. Right before we headed back down the mountain, I noticed this bug atop the bush next to where we were sitting. I really liked how the pollen stood out on its legs, and I snapped off a couple of photos before it flew away. I’m not certain, but I think it’s a checkered beetle, but I’m not entirely sure. Honestly, I still just think it looks cool.

UPDATE:

Daniel Marlos, from What’s That Bug, was kind enough to help me out: the picture is of a checkered beetle, “of the family Cleridae, probably the genus Trichodes.”

Explore posts in the same categories: macro photography, nature, Nikon D80, photo of the day, Photography

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

