Photo of the Day: Seeing Red

Photo Details:
Camera: Nikon D80

F-Stop: f/7.1
Focal Length: 24 mm
Exposure Bias: 0
Speed: 1/100
ISO: 100

Starting Out originally uploaded by foolscircle.

Well, I guess this week’s Photo of the Day theme is going to be product photography.  Funnily enough, most of my work in this genre has been regarding either booze or food.  Go figure.

I took this last year on the first day of my sponsored road trip with Red Truck Wines. Cline Cellars, up in Sonoma County, is rather unique amongst a group of beautiful wineries because -aside from being simply gorgeous- it embraces a feeling of fun and local history.  I shot this around 3 or 4 in the afternoon, when the sun wasn’t at too extreme an angle.  There’s an old red truck at the vineyard, which I thought would make for an interesting prop.  When I was playing with the different angles, I realized that the shadow was completely hidden by the bottle from this shot’s perspective.  My one difficulty with this image was the reflection in the bottle, which I wasn’t sure I wanted to keep.  I tried using a polarizer, but bottle just ended up looking like it was a giant shadow instead of a three-dimensional construct.  As a result, I kept the reflection; I’m pretty certain I made the right decision.

It’s strange for me to look at this picture nearly a year after it was taken.  It’s particularly strange because, to me at least, it symbolizes the start of a six month period that was spent on the road.  I sometimes wonder who I’d be if I hadn’t spent all that time traveling around the country… I like to think that I’m a better person for all the experiences, but who’s to say something equally as educational wouldn’t have come along had I stuck around the Bay Area during this time?

Anyway, I’m getting nostalgic and reflective, which are always dangerous elements to combine.  I think I’l leave you with this thought: this photo is one of my favorites, and it’ll probably always be one of them for the memories it’s tied to.  Well, that and it looks pretty.

Explore posts in the same categories: commercial photography, Nikon D80, photo of the day, Photography

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

